pleaseopf.blogg.se

Meade magellan 1 installation
Meade magellan 1 installation




($700 for the scope/mount $200 for the NGF DX3, less for an RCF, and about $100 for and Orion laser collimator and red eye finder).Ī work in progress - that was my impression of it when I bought it last year. So, with the upgrades, this scope runs $1000 with the above suggestions. I just wish Meade offered a real deluxe package with a good focuser, a laser collimator, and a better finder. It is about 5 times thicker than a sono tube for cement. The tube is very sturdy, and no, this is not what you pour cement into. It appears that Meade put killer optics with less than quality accouterments. A Lumicon 0-III on the Veil Nebula is just magnificent. A variable polarizer works nice as do the Meade and Celestron color filters. Use some filters for the planets because of this scope's speed. I have got down to 14Mag in my light polluted suburban back yard. The optics are wonderful (after collimation). The optional Meade declination control works very well too. Occasionally the drive assembly/mount has to be tightened, but it tracks just fine, even for short CCD work. As for replacing the finder, does anyone know where to get a good one with a 90 degree elbow on it? A JMI RCF or an NGF-DX3 (what I have) are needed.Īny red eye finder (like a Telrad or Orion) should be included with this scope. The focuser is just bad…No, its worse than that Jim, it sucks. At the beginning of every session, collimation is easy with a laser (Orion makes a nice one). This scope stays in collimation pretty well. After the laser, detail on planets was a sinch, even when getting close with the 3x Televue Barlow. This error caused endless problems with viewing any planet and I missed a year of detail in the galactic arm. When I got the laser, I saw just how out of collimation I was (and here I thought I was close, NOT!). This scope MUST be collimated perfectly or aberrations will occur. The finder scope doubles as a toy in a McDonald's Happy Meal. Collimation without a laser is very difficult (unless you are comfortable with doing this at night with an out of focus star).






Meade magellan 1 installation